You now have the ability to enable the automatic upload of any activities created in or uploaded to Strava and Apple Health into your Wahoo account. Once enabled, any new activities created in or uploaded to Strava or Apple Health will be imported into your Wahoo account history as they are uploaded to Strava or Apple Health. The activities are then included in your aggregate activity statistics and can be viewed in detail like activities recorded in/on Wahoo apps or computers in the Wahoo app History tab or SYSTM History Beta view.
Requirements
A Strava account or Apple Health authorized in the Wahoo or SYSTM apps with the 'View data about your private activities' permission on the Strava authorizations page is selected.
Note: If you already have Strava or Apple Health authorized as a connected app, you will need to deauthorize and reauthorize the app in order to enable the feature.
Strava
Enable the feature
Enabling the permission starts the automatic import of activities uploaded to Strava into your linked Wahoo account, from that point forward. It has no effect on previous activities in Strava history. See Notes for more details.
In the Wahoo app
- Navigate to Today > Settings > Authorized Apps > Strava
- Authorize Strava by logging in and confirming permissions
- Ensure that the box next to 'View data about your private activities' permission on the Strava authorizations page is selected. (It is selected by default.)
In the SYSTM app
- Navigate to More > Settings > Authorized Apps > Strava
- Authorize Strava by logging in and confirming permissions
- Ensure that the box next to 'View data about your private activities' permission on the Strava authorizations page is selected. (It is selected by default.)
Disable the feature
To stop future activities uploaded to Strava from being automatically imported into your Wahoo account, follow the steps below. This will have no effect on activities previously imported into your Wahoo account. Previously imported activities will remain unless manually deleted.
- Navigate as described in the Enable directions.
- Deauthorize/disconnect Strava.
- Reauthorize/Connect Strava, but de-select the 'View data about your private activities' permission on the Strava authorizations page before confirming authorization.
Apple Health
Enable the feature
Enabling the permission starts the automatic import of activities uploaded to Apple Health into your linked Wahoo account, from that point forward and for the previous 30 days.
If you have Apple Health already authorized, you will see a panel at the top of the History tab in the Wahoo app at launch that will take you to reauthorize and toggle on the new permissions. This panel can be dismissed with the 'x' in the upper right hand corner.
If you select the Turn on button, you will be taken to the Authorized apps page for Apple Health. If the 'x' is selected, to access this later you can find it by Account > Authorized apps. For the full details see Authorized Apps [Wahoo app].
Apple Health has a number of settings that need to be toggled on under the 'Allow "Wahoo" to read settings in the Health access menu. When authorizing, this menu should automatically appear. If it does not, it can be found at Apple Health app > Sharing > Apps > Wahoo.
If a setting is toggled off, the information associated with that setting will not be imported into the Wahoo app. For example, if Workouts are toggled off, no workouts will be shared to the Wahoo app. If Workout Routes is toggled off, the GPS track will not be shared to the Wahoo app.
Disable the feature
To stop future activities uploaded to Apple Health from being automatically imported into your Wahoo account, follow the steps below. This will have no effect on activities previously imported into your Wahoo account. Previously imported activities will remain unless manually deleted.
- Navigate as described in the Enable directions.
- Deauthorize/disconnect Apple Health
Or
- Navigate to the Apple Health App
- Select Sharing
- Select Apps
- Select Wahoo
- Scroll down to the 'Allow "Wahoo" to read' section
- Disable all data types.
Notes
- Enabling the feature for Strava means that, going forward from the time the feature is enabled, as an activity is uploaded to Strava, that activity's .FIT file is forwarded to the Wahoo servers and made available for viewing in our apps.
- Enabling the feature for Apple Health means that, going forward from the time the feature is enabled and for the previous 30 days, as an activity is uploaded to Apple Health, that activity's .FIT file is forwarded to the Wahoo servers and made available for viewing in our apps.
- Activities imported into your Wahoo account include those [1] recorded in Strava and [2] any uploaded to Strava/Apple Health from linked third party apps/devices.
- Activities uploaded to Strava/Apple Health from Wahoo apps/cloud will not be re-imported.
- Activities that appear as parallel recordings to ones recorded in a Wahoo app/on a Wahoo device will appear under the select data file option in the activity summary's top right hand corner menu
- Because only the .FIT file from Strava is being imported, all activities uploaded from Strava will appear with the title 'Uploaded File' regardless of if the activity was created in or uploaded to Strava. Activities re-titled in Strava either before or after import will have no effect on the activity title in the Wahoo or SYSTM app.
- Activities imported into your Wahoo account include those [1] recorded in Strava and [2] any uploaded to Strava/Apple Health from linked third party apps/devices.
- Imported files cannot be shared to other third party apps.
-
There is no manual trigger to import past activities individually or in bulk. Once the permission is enabled, the system will automatically import new activities recorded in or uploaded to Strava into your Wahoo account until Strava is deauthorized/disconnected from your Wahoo account or that sub-permission is denied.
- Apple Health will automatically sync the previous 30 days of activities
- The only way to import previous activities into your Wahoo account from a third party source is by manually uploading a .FIT file of that activity on an individual basis.
- Deleting an activity in the Wahoo or SYSTM apps has no effect on the existence on an activity in Strava's servers/app or Apple Health's record. Deleting an activity imported from Strava/Apple Health in the Wahoo / SYSTM app history will delete the activity record from your Wahoo account only. However, you cannot undo a deletion.